Successful Candidate Forum June 23

Our first-ever online and broadcast forum, presented with a great deal of help from AAUW-PT and KPTZ 91.9, featured answers to a range of publicly submitted questions given by Heidi Eisenhour, Amanda Rae Funaro, and Lorna Smith, all Democrats, running for the District 2 seat on the Board of County Commissioners.

Thank you to the 145 webinar attendees and to all those who listened in to KPTZ.

A recording of the forum can be found on YouTube on Dennis Daneau's channel

and as a podcast on KPTZ 91.9

Get Ready to Vote!

Virtual forums:

Lieutenant Governor

Hosted by LWV of Tacoma-Pierce County
Date/Time of Forum: July 9, 2020 at 5:30 p.m.
View Online until Primary Election

Secretary of State

Hosted by LWV of Spokane Area
Date/Time of Forum: July 16, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.
View Online until Primary Election

Legislative District 24 Position 1

Password is g6e!RW@u


  1. Mike Chapman – Confirmed
  2. Daniel Charles Svoboda – Confirmed, no show
  3. Sue Forde – Confirmed, then cancelled 

Legislative District 24 Position 2- cancelled

Only Steve Tharinger accepted, Jodi Wilke dropped out of the race and the remaining candidates declined to participate, therefore League of Women Voters of Clallam County have opted not to hold the forum  


  1. Brian Pruiett – Declined
  2. Steve Tharinger – Confirmed
  3. Darren Corcoran – Declined
  4. Jodi Wilke – Confirmed, then cancelled due to dropping out of race

Voting:  Ballots for the August 4 primary election will be mailed July 15 to all county voters.  The ballot will encompass many statewide offices and three legislative district offices as well as the District 2 County Commissioner race.

Voter's Guides: 

The state League's site will be live with a voters guide to all candidates on the primary election ballot.  Go to and enter your address for your personalized ballot.  Our county does not print a voters guide for this election, so Vote411 is especially useful to Jefferson County.

The Secretary of State's Online Voters Guide for Jefferson County is now online.  It includes statements

Sample Primary Election Ballot Click here and scroll about halfway down the page to find a link to download our Jefferson County sample ballot. 

Remember, District 1 and District 2 County Commissioners will appear only on their voters' ballots.  District 3 will not vote on any County Commissioner candidates in the primary election. 

Also, Precinct Committee Officer candidates will appear only on the ballots of voters in which there are two candidates for the office.

No judicial candidates appear on the primary ballot.


Dennis Daneau, Chair


Membership Levels:

We are open to all genders.

$15 - Teambuilder  New! 

 Ask us about these member-sposored memberships.

$60 -  Individual

$105  - Two persons at the same address

To join or renew:

Send your check to:
LWV/Jefferson County
P.O. Box 707
Port Townsend, WA 98368

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software